Set this page to:

Cognitive Finance

The Cognitive Finance approach describes a new analytical and methodological concept for explaining real capital markets.

Basics of Cognitive Finance

With insights we see more

"Cognitive Finance" describes a novel methodology for holistic understanding of economics and capital markets. The term is based on classical cognitive theory, but goes far beyond it: It integrates the latest findings from neuroscience and psychology and addresses the problem of limited human cognitive ability.

Scientific studies show that human individuals are subject to systematic biases when it comes to acquiring information, processing information and making decisions.

"Cognitive Finance" consequently serves to analyze, describe and explain real-world processes in economics and capital markets, explicitly incorporating neural limitations, cognitive deficits and boundedly rational behavior. This approach decisively extends and modernizes previous principles of economic and capital market research.

Read: "Cognitive Finance: Neue Sicht auf Wirtschaft und Finanzmärkte" sowie "Kapitalmärkte sind nicht länger eine abstrakte Black Box" (both available in German).

From Capital Market Theory to Cognitive Finance

"Cognitive Finance" sees itself as an innovative methodology for holistic economic and capital market research. The approach integrates state-of-the-art scientific findings and thus addresses serious explanatory deficits of standard economic models.

Although criticism concerning traditional paradigms of economic and capital market theory has been increasing for years, hardly any meaningful alternatives have emerged so far. Interesting perspectives are offered by explanatory models based on behavioral science, which take a large number of psychologically determined peculiarities into account and thus allow a new view of real capital markets. Such concepts are also known as behavioral economics ("behavioral finance"). While behavioral finance approaches provide a more realistic picture, they often lack a consistent methodological framework.

"Cognitive Finance" has the clear goal to overcome the existing deficits of current economic and capital market models.

"Cognitive Finance" breaks new ground for this purpose and refers to insights from evolutionary theory, systems theory and information economics. At the same time it integrates approaches of cognitive research and neuroscience. By means of networked analytics and an interdisciplinary scientific foundation, "Cognitive Finance" creates a comprehensive understanding of complex reality.

Thinking in cognitive spaces

FERI Cognitive Finance focuses on all longer-term trends and systemic developments of which a comprehensive picture of the future can be derived. To this end, the FERI Cognitive Finance Institute uses a multidimensional analysis approach that focuses on six elementary knowledge areas ("cognitive spaces").

The ongoing analysis and systematic linking of these six cognitive spaces results in a comprehensive, broadly networked picture of the future (big picture). The big picture and the scenarios derived from it serve to identify and better understand future trends in the global economy, the financial system and the capital markets.

This "thinking in cognitive spaces" requires an interdisciplinary research approach and the ability for holistic analytics, i.e. a cognitive methodology.

A new world view of interdependent systems

"FERI Cognitive Finance" is a methodology developed by the FERI Cognitive Finance Institute that analyzes relevant developments and long-term trends and condenses them into a holistic, interconnected and dynamic picture of the future (Big Picture).

The proprietary "FERI Cognitive Finance" approach uses complex analyses for this purpose, taking into account principles from systems theory and neuroscience. Relevant topics and issues are networked, taking into account multiple cause-effect relationships, which enables a "neural" analysis logic:

Central thematic fields ("objects of cognition") are neuronally linked and assigned to the six cognitive spaces via multidimensional synapses, which in turn are viewed as complex interdependent systems.

Within the framework of this neuronal system, content-related interdependencies, but also critical bifurcations and breaks both within and between the different cognitive spaces are explicitly identified and modeled. This applies to existing trends as well as to hybrid development paths or incipient "megatrends".

The innovative Cognitive Finance methodology thus enables not only a forward-looking perception and classification of strategic developments, but also the derivation of concrete environmental, future and risk scenarios on the basis of system dynamic analysis concepts.

Recognize more, achieve more

Based on its proprietary Cognitive Finance methodology, the FERI Institute continuously analyzes overarching trends and global developments of significant importance:

Based on a global topic map ("mission map") and focused on six central cognitive spaces, relevant developments are continuously captured and their impact and relationship networks are multi-dimensionally interconnected.

This neural analysis logic enables early recognition of significant currents, trends and scenario drivers, as well as an assessment of potential feedback and spillover effects on other areas.

"FERI Cognitive Finance" thus enables a deeper understanding and a significantly sharper and more comprehensive picture of the relevant factors driving and determining the economy, capital markets and society.

Herewith, the FERI Cognitive Finance Institute aims to identify emerging trends, trend changes or trend breaks at an early stage. This capability provides profound guidance in an increasingly complex world. In principle, the FERI Cognitive Finance Institute has a medium to long-term analysis horizon.

Depending on the issue, the FERI Cognitive Finance Institute uses an external research network with experts of different disciplines. The resulting analyses and studies serve as valuable information and as a basis for decision-making for entrepreneurs, investors and asset owners.

The FERI Cognitive Finance Institute also performs an important educational and early warning function for the interested public.

The Institute's Founder

Dr. Heinz-Werner Rapp

Founder

Head of Steering Board

FERI Cognitive Finance Institute

Cognitive spaces: The basis of a comprehensive mission map

CONTACT
Telephone
Contact
FERI Cognitive Finance Institute

T +49 (0) 6172 916-3097
info@feri-institut.de


Rathausplatz 8 - 10
D-61348 Bad Homburg

Contact form

Thank you for your message. We come back to your request.

Failed to send the message!

Wrong input!

Telephone CONTACT
Contact CONTACT
Languages
FCFI

+49 (0) 6172 916-3097
info@feri-institut.de


D-61348 Bad Homburg
Rathausplatz 8 - 10

Contact form

Thank you for your message. We come back to your request.

Failed to send the message!

Wrong input!

Set this page to:
Go to FERI in:

Zu FERI in:
Deutschland Luxemburg Schweiz

Cognitive Finance

Der Cognitive Finance Ansatz beschreibt ein neues analytisches und methodisches Konzept zur Erklärung realer Kapitalmärkte.

Grundlagen und weiterführende Informationen zu Cognitive Finance

Erkennen ist mehr als sehen

„Cognitive Finance“ beschreibt eine neuartige Methodik zum ganzheitlichen Verständnis von Wirtschaft und Kapitalmärkten. Der Begriff basiert auf der klassischen Kognitionstheorie, geht darüber jedoch weit hinaus: Er integriert neueste Erkenntnisse aus Neurowissenschaft und Psychologie und adressiert das Problem limitierter menschlicher Kognitionsfähigkeit.

Wissenschaftliche Studien belegen, dass menschliche Individuen bei ihrer Fähigkeit zur Informationsgewinnung, Informationsverarbeitung und Entscheidungsfindung systematischen Verzerrungen unterliegen.

„Cognitive Finance“ dient folglich der Analyse, Beschreibung und Erklärung realer Prozesse in Wirtschaft und Kapitalmärkten, unter expliziter Einbeziehung neuronaler Limitationen, kognitiver Defizite und begrenzt rationaler Verhaltensweisen. Dieser Ansatz erweitert und modernisiert entscheidend bisherige Prinzipien von Wirtschafts- und Kapitalmarktforschung.

Lesen Sie hierzu: "Cognitive Finance: Neue Sicht auf Wirtschaft und Finanzmärkte" sowie "Kapitalmärkte sind nicht länger eine abstrakte Black Box".

Von Kapitalmarkttheorie zu Cognitive Finance

„Cognitive Finance“ versteht sich als innovative Methodik zur ganzheitlichen Wirtschafts- und Kapitalmarktforschung. Der Ansatz integriert modernste wissenschaftliche Erkenntnisse und adressiert damit gravierende Erklärungsdefizite der ökonomischen Standardmodelle.

Obwohl die Kritik an tradierten Paradigmen der Wirtschafts- und Kapitalmarkttheorie seit Jahren zunimmt, wurden bislang kaum sinnvolle Alternativen hervorgebracht. Interessante Perspektiven bieten verhaltenswissenschaftlich fundierte Erklärungsmodelle, die eine Vielzahl psychologisch bedingter Besonderheiten berücksichtigen und so eine neue Sicht auf reale Kapitalmärkte ermöglichen. Die Gesamtheit dieser Konzepte ist auch als Verhaltensökonomie („Behavioral Finance“) bekannt. Ansätze der Verhaltensökonomie liefern zwar ein realistischeres Bild, dennoch fehlt ihnen oft ein konsistentes methodisches Gerüst. 

„Cognitive Finance“ hat das klare Ziel, die bestehenden Defizite heutiger Wirtschafts- und Kapitalmarktmodelle zu überwinden. 

„Cognitive Finance“ geht dazu neue Wege und nimmt Bezug auf Erkenntnisse der Evolutionstheorie, Systemtheorie und Informationsökonomie, gleichzeitig werden Ansätze der Kognitionsforschung und der Neurowissenschaften integriert. Durch vernetzte Analytik und dezidiert interdisziplinäre wissenschaftliche Fundierung schafft „Cognitive Finance“ ein umfassendes Verständnis für komplexe Realität.

Denken in Erkenntnisräumen

Im Fokus von „FERI Cognitive Finance“ stehen alle längerfristigen Tendenzen und systemischen Entwicklungen, aus denen sich ein umfassendes Zukunftsbild ableiten lässt. Zu diesem Zweck nutzt das FERI Cognitive Finance Institute einen multidimensionalen Analyseansatz, der sich auf sechs elementare Kernbereiche („Erkenntnisräume“) konzentriert.

Aus der laufenden Analyse und systematischen Verknüpfung dieser sechs Erkenntnisräume resultiert ein umfassendes, breit vernetztes Zukunftsbild (Big Picture). Das Big Picture und die daraus abgeleiteten Szenarien dienen der Identifikation und dem besseren Verständnis von zukünftigen Trends der globalen Wirtschaft, des Finanzsystems sowie der Kapitalmärkte.

Dieses „Denken in Erkenntnisräumen“ erfordert einen interdisziplinären Forschungsansatz und die Fähigkeit zu ganzheitlicher Analytik, also eine kognitive Methodik.

Ein neues Weltbild interdependenter Systeme

„FERI Cognitive Finance“ ist eine vom FERI Cognitive Finance Institute entwickelte Methodik, mit der relevante Entwicklungen und langfristige Trends analysiert und zu einem ganzheitlichen, vernetzten und dynamischen Zukunftsbild (Big Picture) verdichtet werden.

Der proprietäre „FERI Cognitive Finance“-Ansatz nutzt dafür komplexe Analysen, unter Berücksichtigung von Prinzipien aus Systemtheorie und Neurowissenschaft. Relevante Themen und Fragestellungen werden unter Berücksichtigung multipler Wirkbeziehungen vernetzt, was eine „neuronale“ Analyselogik ermöglicht: 

Zentrale Themenfelder („Erkenntnisobjekte“) werden neuronal verknüpft und über multidimensionale Synapsen den sechs Erkenntnisräumen zugeordnet, die wiederum als komplexe interdependente Systeme betrachtet werden. 

Im Rahmen dieser neuronalen Systematik werden inhaltliche Interdependenzen, aber auch kritische Verzweigungen und Brüche sowohl innerhalb als auch zwischen den verschiedenen Erkenntnisräumen explizit identifiziert und modelliert. Dies gilt sowohl für bereits existierende Trends als auch für hybride Verlaufspfade oder beginnende „Megatrends“. 

Die innovative Cognitive Finance-Methodik ermöglicht so nicht nur eine vorausschauende Wahrnehmung und Einordnung strategischer Entwicklungen, sondern auf Grundlage systemdynamischer Analysekonzepte auch die Ableitung konkreter Umwelt-, Zukunfts- und Risiko-Szenarien. 

Mehr erkennen, mehr erreichen

Auf Grundlage der proprietären Cognitive Finance-Methodik analysiert das FERI Institut laufend übergeordnete Trends und globale Entwicklungen von signifikanter Bedeutung: 

Ausgehend von einer globalen Themenlandkarte („Mission Map“) und fokussiert auf sechs zentrale Erkenntnisräume werden relevante Entwicklungen kontinuierlich erfasst und deren Wirkungs- und Beziehungsgeflechte mehrdimensional vernetzt. 

Diese neuronale Analyselogik ermöglicht ein frühzeitiges Erkennen maßgeblicher Strömungen, Trends und Szenariotreiber sowie eine Abschätzung potenzieller Rückkopplungen und Abstrahleffekte auch auf andere Bereiche. 

„FERI Cognitive Finance“ ermöglicht so ein tieferes Verständnis und ein deutlich schärferes und umfassenderes Bild der relevanten Faktoren, die Wirtschaft, Kapitalmärkte und Gesellschaft antreiben und determinieren. 

Das FERI Cognitive Finance Institute verfolgt mit dieser Analytik das Ziel, aufkommende Trends, Trendveränderungen oder Trendbrüche frühzeitig zu identifizieren. Diese Fähigkeit bietet profunde Orientierung in einer immer komplexer werdenden Welt. Grundsätzlich hat das FERI Cognitive Finance Institute dabei einen mittel- bis langfristigen Analysehorizont. 

Je nach Fragestellung nutzt das FERI Cognitive Finance Institute ein externes Forschungsnetzwerk mit Experten aus unterschiedlichen Disziplinen. Die daraus resultierenden Analysen und Studien dienen als wertvolle Information und Entscheidungsgrundlage für Unternehmer, Investoren und Vermögensinhaber.

Auch für die interessierte Öffentlichkeit erbringt das FERI Cognitive Finance Institute damit eine wichtige Aufklärungs- und Frühwarnfunktion.

Gründer des Instituts

Dr. Heinz-Werner Rapp

Gründer

Leiter Steering Board

FERI Cognitive Finance Institute

Kontakt
Kontakt
Sprache
FERI Cognitive Finance Institute

T +49 (0) 6172 916-3097
info@feri-institut.de


Rathausplatz 8-10
61348 Bad Homburg

Kontaktformular

Vielen Dank für Ihre Nachricht. Wir kommen auf Ihr Anliegen zurück.

Leider ist ein Fehler aufgetreten.

Der Sicherheitscode wurde falsch eingegeben.

Diese Seite übersetzen in:
KONTAKT
Telefon
Kontakt
FERI Cognitive Finance Institute

T +49 (0) 6172 916-3097
info@feri-institut.de


Rathausplatz 8-10
61348 Bad Homburg

Kontaktformular

Vielen Dank für Ihre Nachricht. Wir kommen auf Ihr Anliegen zurück.

Leider ist ein Fehler aufgetreten.

Der Sicherheitscode wurde falsch eingegeben.